Sam Schmidt Motorsports’ Victor Carbone, from Sao Paulo, Brazil, recorded the fastest lap in time trials today to win the pole for Sunday’s Firestone Indy Lights Las Vegas 100 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Driving the No. 3 Nevoni/SSM car, Carbone’s lap of 57.9685 seconds at 191.773 mph also led the four-car Sam Schmidt Motorsports (SSM) team. It was Carbone’s first Firestone Indy Lights Series Sunoco Pole Award of his career.

SSM driver Esteban Guerrieri qualified third by turning a lap of 58.3497 seconds at 190.520 in the No. 7 Lucas Oil/SSM car. With his run today, Guerrieri finished the Firestone Indy Lights Series season by qualifying in the top-five in all 13 races in 2011.

The next two SSM drivers will start together in the fourth row in Sunday’s 67-lap race. Bryan Clauson will start seventh after turning a lap of 58.5001 at 190.030 mph in his No. 77 Mazda Road To Indy/Curb Records SSM car.

Starting next to Clauson on the outside of the fourth row is SSM teammate and 2011 Firestone Indy Lights Series champion Josef Newgarden, who clinched the championship two weeks ago at Kentucky Speedway in Sparta.  His lap of 58.5385 seconds at 189.906 mph, in his No. 11 Copart/Score Big/Robo Pong/SSM car, was good enough for eighth.

Starting next to Carbone on the front row will be Andretti Autosport’s Stefan Wilson with his lap of 57.9803 at 191.734 mph. With Guerrieri starting third, Team E’s Rusty Mitchell and Team Moore Racing’s Gustavo Yacaman round out the top-five.

Carbone’s Sunoco pole award was the 59th pole won by Sam Schmidt Motorsports’ Indy Lights teams. Led by Guerrieri’s six, SSM recorded 11 of those poles in 2011.

Sunday’s Las Vegas 100 gets the green flag on 9:45 a.m. PT.

Date:                  Friday, Oct. 14, 2011

Event:                Las Vegas 100 (Round 13 of 13)

Series:                Firestone Indy Lights Series

Location:           Las Vegas Motor Speedway (1.5-mile, oval)

Pole Winner:      Victor Carbone, Sam Schmidt Motorsports (57.9685 seconds at 191.773 mph)

SSM Lineup:      Victor Carbone (1st, 57.9685 seconds at 191.773 mph)

                           Esteban Guerrieri (3rd, 58.3497 seconds at 190.520 mph)

                           Bryan Clauson (7th, 58.5001 seconds at 190.030 mph)

                           Josef Newgarden (8th, 58.5385 seconds at 189.906 mph)